Notices

Newcomer here

Old 06-22-2017, 05:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newcomer here

Hello everybody.

I am a guy in my mid-twenties, who recently became sober. I am about to hit four months of sobriety, which is my longest streak in many years.

I have been struggeling with alcohol abuse since I was about 19 years old, but with the help of my girlfriend I have managed to get sober.

I recently noticed that I needed a larger support network, since only having one person to share my worries and victories with, didn't seem enough (I don't talk about my alcohol addiction with any family or friends).

I am making this thread hoping to find support and to introduce myself, since I didn't know where else to start
Old 06-22-2017, 05:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Welcome to SR Dave. Congrats on 4 months - that's awesome!

Are you following a specific program or did you just decide to quit? Tell us how you're succeeding.
Old 06-22-2017, 05:16 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome!!! I was about your age when I started noticing my problem. I will have one year of sobriety the same time I turn 60, if I make it. The longest I have made it till now, maybe 6 months. Every day now is a new personal record. I hope you don't wait as long as I did. I wish you well on your journey!
Old 06-22-2017, 05:43 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Nonsensical View Post
Welcome to SR Dave. Congrats on 4 months - that's awesome!

Are you following a specific program or did you just decide to quit? Tell us how you're succeeding.
Thank you so much!

To be honest, my turning point was when my girlfriend said she couldn't handle my drinking anymore and had to leave me if I didn't quit. This isn't the first time she has said that, but my past excuses and empty promises has kept it at a distance. This time was different though, and I'm very grateful that she was able to reason with me.

Other than her support, I'm using an app called EasyQuitDrinking for tracking and motivation