Notices

Support

Old 06-14-2017, 07:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Support

I have been drinking almost everyday for 10 years. 4 Days ago I just quit. I still think about drinking especially in the evening because that's when I always drank. I swear on day 4 I feel like a pregnant woman. I hate the smell of alit of things even my own clothes and body. I am sweating all the time and I hate to sweat. I take a cold shower, I mean cold, come out and still hit and sweating. I am not able to eat that much as once. Is all of this normal? I also take pressure pills and don't want to use a drug to get over this. I'm doing this with God. But are these feelings normal?
Old 06-14-2017, 07:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Re-Member

Everybody reacts a little differently to withdrawing from alcohol, but I've certainly heard of your symptoms before. If you continue to be concerned about them, go see a doctor. Alcohol withdrawals are a very serious business.

And welcome to SR! There's a ton of great support to be found here. I highly suggest joining the Class of June 2017 thread found on this same forum. It's a great way to learn from and help others who are newly sober. Congratulations on choosing a better way of life in recovery!
Old 06-14-2017, 07:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome to SR storm. Glad to hear you have decided to quit drinking and congrats on 4 days sober. Regarding the symptoms you are going through, it's definitely normal to be uncomfortable during withdrawal, but if you have specific health concerns it's best to check with a doctor, especially if you are on other meds. Quitting cold turkey after 10 years of hard drinking is a big shock to the system. You'll find a lot of support here so I hope you can stay with us for a while.
Old 06-14-2017, 08:03 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family.

I also take pressure pills and don't want to use a drug to get over this.