Notices

No methadone day 23

Old 06-03-2017, 07:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

No methadone day 23

First time here....or anywhere for that matter. Just wanted to put this out there simply because of all the horror stories I've read. First off, I'm 43. Had back surgery at 35. Started with dilaudid the to heroin. Got up to roughly a gram a day. Hell to be totally honest I started iv when 21. Basically got tired of the junkie hustle. Anyway sorry for the rant. I started methadone about 2 years ago . My blocking dose was 120mg. So about 9 months ago I started to taper and my last dose was 7.5 mg 23 days ago. The first 12 days I might have got 12 hours of sleep altogether. Now at 23 I'm sleeping 4-6 hours a night. I'm a chef So i put in long days on my feet. The first 3 weeks of my detox I worked 150 hours. It my head stay busy but exhausting with no sleep. The diarrhea was bad for one day but I've taken Imodium pretty aggressively (mainly because I make a living cooking food). The sneaking sucks. All in all its not near as bad as I expected. My last week on methadone I decreased pretty rapidly...2.5mg per day. Then stopped at 7.5. Figured I was ready and already experiencing wd symptoms. For anyone who took the time to read this.... it only gets better. Push the next minute to the hour... Then to the day. Hell... 3 years ago I in the gutter like the rain water . Homeless... Now I'm back on my feet and running my own life. It's a battle but if I can do it so can you.
Old 06-03-2017, 07:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Wow, it sounds like you're getting through this! Congratulations and I hope you continue to work on your recovery.
Old 06-03-2017, 08:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Slickone, welcome to SR! Wow, sounds like a rough journey but you sound like you are doing much better! Do you have a good recovery plan and some good supports? And good for you getting this far.
Old 06-03-2017, 08:38 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Plans