Notices

Anxiety and alcohol

Old 02-14-2017, 02:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
It's amazing how a bad thing can turn into greatness

Anxiety and alcohol

Hi I'm new to recovery so if I'm on the wrong page please point me in the right direction.
I am really bad with relationships and friends as I believe I have a big heart which is a strength but also my biggest weakness and when my heart is broken it seeks revenge in a cold and calculated way. This is why I'm trying to quit alcohol as it allows me to do stupid things that I would not do when I'm sober.
I have recently been stupid and lost everything well that's how I feel anyway so anxiety has kicked in every day now for the last month and it makes me feel sick and uncomfortable and alcohol is the only thing that makes it go away.
I guess it's karma in a way but the anxiety is from the thoughts of I could've went about things so much better as it was totally out of character.
I'm seeking help and have an appointment with a psychologist and the beginning of next month but as for now I am trying to limit alcohol to the weekend only .
Any suggestions or conversation will be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-14-2017, 02:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome to SR neacsy. I am an anxiety sufferer as well and tried to "cope" with it by drinking too. Unfortunately, alcohol actually makes it worse. It seems like it might be helping for a short period of time, but it almost always comes back worse. And eventually, even the alcohol can't chase away the anxiety anymore.

My solution was to seek help via therapy too, glad to hear you are going to see someone. There are a plethora of ways to deal with anxiety, both therapy and medication based - don't be afraid to be honest and try a few different things. Mindfulness and meditation have helped me, as well as eating well and trying to get some exercise on a regular basis too.