Notices

9 weeks sober and feel like CRAP

Old 04-11-2017, 09:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy 9 weeks sober and feel like CRAP

Hi, All!
This is my first time posting to a forum. I've been sober from alcohol for 9 weeks. Had TONS of energy etc at first (pink cloud?); now, however, I am having headaches, lethargy, stomach aches, etc and physically feel, more often than not, that I have been hit by a Budweiser truck (ha ha). Today, for instance, it is hard to move. I'm eating well, not too much sugar, drinking tons of water, taking supplements (milk thistle, vitamin, fish oil etc). I know I need to be patient and I can deal with the "mental" issues I have going on right now very well. This PHYSICAL stuff, though, is kicking my butt. Is this "normal"? I just kind of thought all of these things would happen in the first few weeks of stopping and not now when I feel like I'm really getting on track.
Thanks so much for listening.
Old 04-11-2017, 09:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome to SR KES06 and congrats on 9 weeks! There really is no such thing as "normal" when it comes to sobriety, or even life in general for that matter. But it is common for people to have ups and downs after quitting, that is for sure.

If you are having physical issues as you mention, seeing a doctor is probably the first thing you should do and rule out physical causes. There are a plethora of things that could be causing the symptoms you are having, it would be impossible for us to diagnose them here. Don't rule out a mental source of physical issues too - health anxiety/general anxiety can sometimes manifest itself with physical symptoms.
Old 04-11-2017, 10:06 AM
  # 3 (permalink)