Notices

Not sure where to post this

Old 04-08-2017, 09:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure where to post this

Can I get a restraining order on a person that I live with? My mother. She is verbally abusive in front of my children, cussing and yelling constantly, but not hitting anyone. I don't see how I will sustain my sobriety around her, it's just so stressful and I'm new in recovery and don't have all my ducks in a row yet.
We are on every list possible for housing, and I also work and could pay rent. I just don't make 3 times what the rent is and that is required most places.
I'm just gonna start applying to every apartment building in my town and see if I can get someone to rent to me. I have no criminal background or evictions. I have good renting history, but no references in the past few years because I lived with family.
I'm fed up with my living situation here. My parents are extremely controlling. They say as long as we are in their house, they have control of me and my kids. I'm done.
Advice please?
Old 04-08-2017, 09:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I agree that moving out is your best option. You are the person who should make decisions about your children. I don't know about a restraining order, but I would definitely check out Women's shelters in your area. This is a very disturbing environment for your children to be living in. Verbal abuse is abuse.
Make use of the following resources, even if it just to get information and support:

National Domestic Abuse Hotline (US):

The National Domestic Violence Hotline | Abuse Defined

The National Domestic Violence Hotline | 24/7 Confidential Support (US)
Old 04-08-2017, 10:31 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you, Anna. I will call when nobody is around. We have to get out of this situation. I just want us to live happy lives, instead of being around people who are miserable in theirs and taking it out on us.
Old 04-08-2017, 12:32 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover