Notices

Greetings everyone

Old 04-06-2017, 07:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Greetings everyone

Good evening everybody (evening where I am). I've been floating around this forum for quite some time; popping in here and there to read others experiences and gain some vicarious support, but I've finally registered and am happy to (officially) be part of the group. I only hope that I can contribute and help others get some much needed support as I have gotten here.

Today I am 70 days sober (soon to be 71). It's not the first time I've been sober At 32 years old, just the most recent, and hopefully final time. I'll try and keep this to the point. The reason, among many, I've decided to make this change is because I'm a chemist and in order to advance in my job to the next level, I need all my wits and brain power working at full capacity. I work with some pretty dangerous stuff and need to be constantly "on" for both my safety and everyone else's. The problem is, I also have a tendency towards binge drinking, it doesn't always happen but when it does, it's bad and I mean BAD.

To make things even more important, my girlfriend is also getting sick of these behaviours and I can absolutely understand. She's the same age as myself and wants a future with family for us but both of us know that's not going to happen if I keep repeating these patterns. Since my girlfriend has seen me make it this far and this well, she has a lot of faith restored in us. I feel guilty because to her I've made this seem really easy. I never complain about having a bad day or a day where I've been tempted to drink. I always seem happy and content to her when in my head I'm yelling at myself and constantly coaxing myself into a state of calm.

I'm nervous to tell her about these things because I don't want her to think everything could go south at a moments notice but I also don't want to snap because of bottling up and pushing down all those feelings.