Notices

Friends acting weird

Old 03-27-2017, 08:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Friends acting weird

Hello to all,
This is my first post and I am new to the SR forum. I am 102 days sober today. I read other people talk about milestones but I'm not at the take it or leave it stage yet so I try not to put myself in those situations. Or if uncomfortable I leave a bit early, if you're reading this you know the drill. I expected many things after quitting i.e nausea, shakes, anxiety, sleepless, et al. What I didn't expect was my closest friends (Lifelong, more like family) distancing themselves from me. I've read it's because they don't want to look at themselves in the mirror. Maybe true. Anybody else have this experience?
Old 03-27-2017, 08:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
AA Member

in AA we celebrate milestones at 30, 60, 90 days, 6,9 mo, 1 year, 18 mo, 2 years etc ...

so heres a chip for ya

big stuff!

Old 03-27-2017, 08:47 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Life Health Prosperity

Alan6154, 102 days sober is just FANTASTIC, congratulations. Your dearest friends are going through this change also. Do your best not to let it upset you, they probably don't know how to act. We are all rootin for ya.
Old 03-27-2017, 08:55 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Congrats on 102 days. I'm only about 1/5 of the way there but I do realize one thing early on - if someone has a problem with what I put in/don't put in to my body then that's their problem. I started getting upset about this very thing and finally said it's not my problem and I'm not going spend an ounce of energy focusing on other people's unwarranted problems with me.

You're improving your life. If people want to be a part of that, great; if not, you need to move forward. You're not bothering/harming anyone.

I wouldn't even worry about "why" they are acting strange. Are you doing the right thing for yourself without hurting anyone else? Yes? Then their "whys" don't matter one bit.
Old 03-27-2017, 09:09 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator