Notices

Taking the first step

Old 03-27-2017, 06:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Taking the first step

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting here so I'm not entirely sure what I'm going to say. I feel like getting something down on paper might be helpful though.

I'm a 29 year old guy from the UK and I have been struggling with my drinking off and (mostly on) for the last 8 years. I have always known that I had a skewed relationship with alcohol. I've fall into that category of people who can't understand why you would stop drinking until there is nothing left to drink. For years it was easy enough to find excuses to get hammered with friends regularly (gap years and university).

About five years ago things started to change, I found myself drinking alone and hiding my drinking from family and friends. Over time, the frequency and quantity of my dinking ramped up until I was drinking half a bottle of vodka most nights. I fluctuated between self disgust (sometimes drinking simply to escape that feeling, sometimes getting angry enough to quit for a month or two) and resignation (this was just a part of my life.) Alcohol has not destroyed my life, I have a successful career, good friends, no convictions, no health problems and a loving, supportive family. I used this to rationalise and tell myself there was no real problem.

Ultimately the thing that has killed me is the deceit. I am so sick of making excuses for unnecessary trips to the shop (no car needs refilling as often as mine). I'm tired of the sick feeling I get when my wife is digging around for something in the kitchen too close to my stashed bottle. I feel pathetic every time I top up a "legitimate" bottle of drink with water or tea and swear this is the last time. I miss being able to talk to my wife about the things I am struggling with I my life, because that thing is alcohol and she doesn't know about my problem.