Notices

Hi. I'm new here

Old 03-25-2017, 05:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi. I'm new here

Hi.

Im new to all this and I'm just dipping my toe in the water and looking around. I didn't want to be a creeper so I thought I'd put my hand up. Divorced mother of 2 struggling to get by in NYC with a long standing hunch that I may be an alcoholic. I have recently cut back and or been completely sober and it has been a struggle. I want to hear how everyone else does it and if they felt as poop as I do.

Thanks for reading.

HC
Old 03-25-2017, 05:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome HC

Its normal not to feel great at first, but I hope you'll feel better soon

Have you completely stopped drinking now?

D
Old 03-25-2017, 05:19 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello HC, welcome to SR

I couldn't moderate at all. I just had to quit. It's hard no doubt. But if you put together a good plan and stick to it I know you can do it. It's worth all the hard work. Again glad to meet you
Old 03-25-2017, 05:20 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome!

I hope that you decide to stop drinking.

You will feel better before long.
Old 03-25-2017, 05:29 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome HC. Poop- yep. Read around the different threads. Keep posting. With no drinking, it does get better.
Old 03-25-2017, 05:31 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Hi Dee, Hi all,

I didn't drink today or yesterday but I feel depressed! Is that common?
Old 03-25-2017, 05:42 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  
2/2016

Absolutely, for me it was. I was tired, short-tempered, bored, all over the place. It gets so much better.
Old 03-25-2017, 05:44 PM
  # 8 (permalink)  

Hi HC! I'm just north of you in CT. I'm a mom too and things got out of hand with my drinking. I tried to regulate for years but finally faced the fact 10 days ago that I need to quit for good. I've found this site invaluable thus far. I'm on it constantly and feel so much better that I'm not alone in my journey. There is so much support here. Hope you stick around!