Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

been doing so well, and have managed to put myself back at square one

Notices

been doing so well, and have managed to put myself back at square one

Old 02-19-2017, 07:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy been doing so well, and have managed to put myself back at square one

Hi there,

I'm sorry for the long winded post this will probably be. However, I have been doing so well with limiting my alcohol intake for the past 9 months or so, being able to go out and enjoy my time with my friends but not get completely obliterated and obnoxious. Before this, I was awful, I'd go out and seem to be incapable of not getting blackout drunk, making friends angry at me to the put where people did not want to go out with me anymore because I was such a liability. I got into a relationship and somehow this is how I realised I needed to change, not only for him but for me and my self worth as well.

However, I went out a few weeks ago and managed to slip into old habits, getting completely black out drunk and worrying all my friends and my boyfriend. I'd left the club and got a taxi, of which I have an inkling of memory, but decided to have a long chat to the taxi driver about my life (god knows why!). Now I am suffering from severe severe anxiety wondering if perhaps, as I was alone, I was taken advantage of by the taxi driver as I only remember talking to him vaguely and sitting in his car. My friend said that she got home and I was in bed (alone, luckily!) but I wasn't dressed or anything and now I can not stop worrying about what happened. I dont know what to do, I know this is probably alcohol induced anxiety (which I used to suffer from a lot) but I cannot shake the feeling of something more than just chatting happening, even though I don't remember anything else having occurred.