Notices

The hardest job in the world to stay sober!!!!!

Old 01-19-2017, 02:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My first post!!! 3 days right now. I'm a chef, 37 years old and have struggled with alcohol basically since I've been 16. Got a DUI at 20. I had a high school sweetheart and we were together until I was 25. She basically kept me in check even though I still drank. We broke up when I was 26 and I did what any alcoholic would dream of and packed my stuff and moved to the Virgin Islands!!!

I worked on land for 3 years and started cooking on yachts about 9 years ago! It's an unbelievable job. As a chef it doesn't get any better. Best ingredients money can buy, always in exotic places, cooking new food. You make crazy money. You live on the boat so you literally have no bills. You are always traveling to new places around the world and basically working/ living on a permanent vacation. I usually bust my ass and work somewhere seasonal and then pick a place in the world and take a 4-5 month vacation backpacking around. Right now I'm finishing month 5 of my vacation to Mexico, Peru, Colombia, and Brazil. So it was Margaritas, Pisco sours, Club Colombia, and Caprhinas!!!

So now the bad things, I've been getting worse and worse for about the last 6 years. Most crew are in their 20 somethings. So after we finish a charter working hard, its on!!!! You are in the best party spots in the world with a big tip in your pocket and a 15 million dollar yacht to stumble home and sleep in. A problem to is most Captains drink a lot, so as long as the food is good and the guests are happy, it's o.k. to drink at work for the chef. Most every crew member has taken an unexpected swim at 4 in the morning coming home. But my last 2 bosses pulled me aside and shared their concerns, but they are my friends so I didn't get fired even though I should have been. ****'s starting to get real!