Notices

Struggling

Old 01-17-2017, 03:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Struggling

This is my first time posting here after reading a few articles related to my situation, and I wasn't quite sure where to make the post, since this is my first time I figured this would work. I apologize in advance, this will likely be pretty long as I have a lot to get off my chest..

I have been an addict to some extent my whole life, most likely stemming from trauma since I was a kid and PTSD from the army. At any rate, about 8 years ago I got out of the army, married, and began my alcohol addiction. It progressed over time, and I was never really able to show my wife who I was, very emotionally weak. As time went on, both of our drinking got worse and worse. We would argue when drinking and this got really bad as time went on. It came to the point where she told me I was verbally abusive, and of course I shrugged it off and told her she was crazy. I said some pretty hurtful things drunk, and it has affected the kids.

Somehow I was able to have a spiritual awakening and realize this is not right. I went to a 35 day rehab program and am doing much better. I've been sober for about 60 days now but my relationship and emotional status are in disaster. I found out the second day that I got back that there was an affair, and that she blames me for everything. Having grown emotionally I tried to show her the man I can be, loving, affectionate and patient. This has increased her resentment, that I could have been this person the whole time. There seems to be nothing I can do right at this point. She is still drinking, I try not to push her into anything knowing that it won't make a difference unless she makes the decision... I can only show her how much sobriety has changed me, and hope she catches on.