Notices

Introducing Myself

Old 01-16-2017, 10:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Introducing Myself

Hello

I have been lurking for a few weeks while tapering down to a level of alcohol that I think will allow me to go abstinent without a lot of withdrawl symptoms...still not expecting it to be easy, but I think my chance of success will be higher this way.

I have been drinking liquor and beer nightly for the past 4 years. Over the past 6 months it has progressed from nightly to starting in the afternoon, then at lunch, then finally to, I couldn't get going on anything until I pounded a 16 oz beer and maintain that "buzz" all day long with more beer and liquor until evening. What happened in the evening, I would just get totally trashed so I could hopefully sleep for at least 5 to 6 hours. Get up, do it again.

This is not the life I was born to live. I am working on reclaiming the life I had before I started drinking. Today is the first day of that life. Glad to have found this group of people.

B
Old 01-16-2017, 10:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
AA Member

hi ImDoneWithIt

glad youre here

Old 01-16-2017, 10:22 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! You sound about where I was when I was drinking heavily, well, others would call it heavy drinking. I just thought it was 'normal'. Who was I trying to fool except myself? Lots of good people/advice here!
Old 01-16-2017, 10:23 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, ImDoneWithIt; so glad you found us.

I hope that the support, understanding, and encouragement you find here will help you achieve lasting sobriety and recovery.

Here's to reclaiming your life!!!!!

We are here for you; lean on us.
Old 01-16-2017, 10:23 AM
  # 5 (permalink)