Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

My name is... and I'm an alcoholic. Tired of fighting and need help.

Notices

Old 01-11-2017, 08:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I have been battling alcohol addiction for so many years now, and I have come to the conclusion that I need to start being open and honest with myself and my family. My battle began the day I took my first drink at 15 years old, and my habit has escalated over many years and continues to get worse. In March of 2015, the inevitable happened. I drove my car intoxicated, blacked out at the wheel, and plowed into a tree. I was arrested, put in jail for the night and went through the arduous and expensive DUI court process. I quit drinking for a month during that time and thought for sure I had this problem solved. Then, I took that first sip of alcohol, and the madness started again. Today, I am miserable with a hangover after last night's binge. It always begins the same way. I have a stressful day at work and feel "entitled" to a "few" beers. I always promise myself I will limit it to three or four. Before I know it, I have pounded down a 12 pack and pass out. I awake nearly every morning in absolute shame and promise myself I will get this under control. I am at a point where I have no choice. I am in my 40's and just returned to college to continue my education. I already have three assignments due within days and I have barely started. It is still morning as I write this and I am drinking a few beers just to ease the hangover symptoms. I know that this is just exacerbating the problem. Wow ... how do I even function? I haven't missed a day of work in a year, I was recently promoted to management, and have been successful in nearly everything I do. On my way to work in the morning, I have, on occasion, had to stop on the side of the road and vomit. During lunch breaks, I frequently drink a few pin