Notices

Going into Med Detox........

Old 12-19-2016, 09:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Going into Med Detox........

the day after Christmas of all days. My wife asked me to wait until after Christmas. So what should I expect?

I am a pretty heavy drinker. 10-12 (oz.) drinks a day. Every morning I wake up sweating, anxiety, nauseous, gagging and retching. Been that way for about 6 months.

Thoughts?

PS. Today's a good day. Only 3 1/2 drinks so far. How screwed up is that?
Old 12-19-2016, 10:23 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I don't think that celebrating small improvements is ever messed up

I have a close friend who had inpatient treatment by way of a 72 hour psych hold followed by a few more days..as a nursing student I have had patients go through detox on the regular med-surg floor .. Are you doing this in a hospital or somewhere else?

The one thing I think you can and should anticipate is understanding and compassionate care. Nurses have a pretty good education and training on this and know better than to judge or to treat you (us) differently from any other patient with any other ailment.
Old 12-19-2016, 10:25 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

You could go today and be done with it all by Christmas. (At least the physical detox part.)

Take care of yourself. ((hug))
Old 12-19-2016, 10:57 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by biminiblue View Post
You could go today and be done with it all by Christmas. (At least the physical detox part.)

Take care of yourself. ((hug))
That was actually my original plan. In fact, yesterday was going to be the day. But the wife is not aware of how bad my drinking is. So not understanding how bad the Robles is, she asked me to wait a week.
Old 12-19-2016, 11:10 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Just get through it, alive preferably (sorry my humor is very poor sometimes). I can't in good conscience encourage you to drink, but I can tell you that medical detox is very pleasant compared to cold turkey at home. Hang in there.
Old 12-19-2016, 11:14 AM