Notices

Brand New to Recovery

Old 11-21-2016, 10:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Brand New to Recovery

Hello,

I've been flirting with recovery for a long time (10 years maybe) and never really made the decision to quit until yesterday. I'm still hungover from a bender this past weekend. My hangovers these days last about 3 days. I'm 38, a happily married mother of 2 great kids, 3 and 5. They have witnessed some of this and I just can't go on the way I am. They have tried to wake me up when I have been passed out to no avail. I have given them baths and put them to bed without remembering. My husband has been extremely supportive and has been by my side trying to work through this, but I've had it.

This is the short version. Just thought I would say hi. I'm thinking about AA as I know I'm going to need external support going into the holiday season and not drinking. Anyone had success there?

Thanks for reading.
Old 11-21-2016, 11:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by ELeigh View Post
Hello,

I've been flirting with recovery for a long time (10 years maybe) and never really made the decision to quit until yesterday. I'm still hungover from a bender this past weekend. My hangovers these days last about 3 days. I'm 38, a happily married mother of 2 great kids, 3 and 5. They have witnessed some of this and I just can't go on the way I am. They have tried to wake me up when I have been passed out to no avail. I have given them baths and put them to bed without remembering. My husband has been extremely supportive and has been by my side trying to work through this, but I've had it.

This is the short version. Just thought I would say hi. I'm thinking about AA as I know I'm going to need external support going into the holiday season and not drinking. Anyone had success there?

Thanks for reading.
Hi. Welcome. Glad you found us, and glad you've made that decision to give sobriety and recovery a real shot.