Notices

Where to start

Old 11-07-2016, 02:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Where to start

Hi everyone,
I am new to the form and new to admitting Im an alcoholic. I have been in denial for awhile now, but have become quiet scared of the lack of control I have over drinking. I think about it all the time. I say Im not going to drink today and I get the shakes, I get extreme anxiety, upset stomach, nausea and my memory is really bad. I don't eat If Im drinking and I do drink in the morning sometimes when Im home alone. My husband does not drink at all so Is always nagging me about my drinking so I have started doing it in hiding. I spoke to my Dr and have not been completely honest about the volume I drink. What scares me the most is the physical symptoms, when I don't drink, which I haven't told anyone about. Don't think AA could help with making those feel better Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Old 11-07-2016, 03:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum Laureah!! You'll find loads of support here on SR!!
Old 11-07-2016, 03:59 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Laureah, I'm glad you found us. You've taken the first step towards a better life so well done
Old 11-07-2016, 04:12 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Laureah, I'm glad you've decided to stop drinking and that you've talked to your dr. If you have any concerns about the physical withdrawals, don't hesitate to seek medical help. For me, during the first few days, I tried to do what I needed to do, but to take it easy.
Old 11-07-2016, 04:33 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi Laureah,

I had to hate the booze so much that I was willing to go through anything to be free....withdrawals, admitting my problems, and taking a lot of time for self care. I also had to decide to quit for ME! I had been on and off of the sobriety train for three years, always expecting someone else to be my cheerleader, and it never happened.