Notices

New to Sober recovery

Old 10-14-2016, 07:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to Sober recovery

Hello everyone, I'm not a newcomer to recovery I have 104 days clean and sober, but this is my first time joining some sort of sobriety forum. I've been struggling like crazy, it's been a real horrible and lonely time for me lately and figured I could use some help and in turn try to help others.
I hate going to meetings because nobody seems to respect the term "anonymity" anymore, so I don't necessarily feel comfortable sharing and just seems to me a waste of time. I live in a very small town and don't want my business being thrown around. I'm pretty much done with the drama and I find that in meetings so I have tended to stay away.
I'm extremely angry lately because I have lost all of my friends to recovery, those who I thought would still be there for me when I came back from treatment a few months ago. Much to my naive surprise, they weren't. I also had to drop a few people who I cared for deeply and it's starting to hurt that I had to put them aside.
I left a job that was my entire world. I worked there for three years and decided it wasn't in my best interest to stay there in fear of going back to my old ways.
In short, I'm feeling very nostalgic. I'm angry at myself for being an addict. I don't feel good enough because I don't drink like normal people. I miss my 'friends'. I miss my job. I almost feel like if I drank again that everything would go back to normal, but nothing will ever be the same again and that's equally as frustrating.
I know all of this sounds dumb and slightly contradicting, like why would I ever want to go back to or miss something that was essentially destroying my life? The insanity I suppose.
Anyways thanks for reading my sob story, I hope to make some friends here and grow stronger in my recovery.
Old 10-14-2016, 08:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, islandlife. Loss is a painful part of any life. Grieve well.
Old 10-14-2016, 08:13 PM