Notices

Old 10-01-2016, 11:04 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi All,

I found this site and have been reading through a lot of the forums. Like many on here I am in need of help and know it will be a long and difficult journey. I have been a heavy drinker for over 20 years mainly Lager, Cider and Wine and have somehow managed to hold down reasonably good jobs.

Last Thursday I hit rock bottom whilst on holiday and last Friday I decided enough was enough and although losing my wife, mainly through my appalling behaviour due to drink and very recently my girlfriend again through my constant bouts of drinking I have decided I not only need to change but MUST change.

I have been kidding myself for too many years that it was other peoples fault. After a terrible day on holiday when I had the worst row with the ex-girlfriend on the phone and found myself on the verge of contemplating suicide I woke up last Friday knowing I had to do something not just for my family and Kids but most of all for myself.

So on Friday I took the first step and decided I would have a dry day, I believed this would be tricky as I was in Cyprus and know so many of the bars but the shame of the night before spurred me on and I did it. I repeated it on the Saturday and Sunday and although not easy I have a burning desire to end this spiralling whirlpool that has been sucking me down for the last 20 plus years.

I have gone a month without a drink before (a couple of times)and then seriously believed that I could become a socialable drinker. Who was I kidding!!

So I thought I would post on here. Today is my 9th day without a drink. I am hoping for a few things, to stay sober, get my health and fitness back and start to rebuild my life.

I am not sure whether to go to AA meetings as I undoubtedly need support but I am unsure about the religious bits that go with the meetings but am planning on going to see my Doctor next week to talk it through with him.

Anyway good luck to all.

Rob