Notices

Lonely

Old 10-04-2004, 07:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Lonely

Hi, I am still pretty new to this. I have 46 days sober and am starting to feel unsure about my life. I have been going to A.A Meetings for several weeks, but I don't feel I want to share at the meetings because I get to nervous. I have been thinking about not going because of that reason. I've had to "give up" my old friends and am now in search of new ones but often times i feel so alone. I feel I am too needy right now, and I am such an emotional rollercoaster that I feel that I might be going crazy. Some days I want to be sober, some days I want to give up. I certainly don't want to go back to using, but when I was using I wasn't as lonely as I am nowadays. Everyone tells me, "Be patient, and the time will come when things fall into place." But the issue seems to be in the present moment for me. Should I just deal with my lonely misery for the time being?
Old 10-04-2004, 08:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Orion,

Hang in there. Things will get better. It's hard to open up, but in the end, that will help you make friends, not only at AA. but elsewhere.
Are you a member of any organizations that do not focus too much on alcohol at all their functions? That's one option.
Old 10-04-2004, 08:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Onion,

I understand how you feel because I felt somewhat disoriented when I stopped drinking. I had to learn to get to know the 'real' me, the me that I had been drowning in alcohol for a few years. Basically, it was a time of soul-searching and alone time. That was a good thing for me and it probably is for you too. Give yourself a chance to become comfortable with you and things will fall into place.

Congratulations on your sober time.

Love, Anna
Old 10-04-2004, 09:13 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
I choose to live

Hello Orion
I recognize a lot in what you're goin' through these days