Notices

6 months sober!! But suddenly thoughts of drinking are back!!

Old 08-28-2016, 09:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question 6 months sober!! But suddenly thoughts of drinking are back!!

Hi everyone.

So, just this week I celebrated 6 months sober. I've never done that before!! I celebrated with someone when I hit my milestone - the longest I had gone sober before - that was about a month ago. This time I didn't really celebrate and I'm thinking I should....

Because suddenly. my cravings are back. Funny enough, it was on the day that I had thoughts again. Up until this week, I've actually had no problem with no drinking and it had been that way for several months. But now....ideas keep forming. What would it be like if.... How would that feel if....imagine how that could be.....I wonder......etc etc

It's taken me off guard I think. And it makes me a little sad.
But I have these thoughts like "It was so magical, like entering a portal into another, wonderful realm....me and this fantasy place....such enjoyment!" And yeah, I know it could be like that but also the consequences are devastating.
But it's almost like, when you feel like things in your life are devasting and sad anyway, it's like....why not?

Anyway I know there are a lot of why not's. But right now, I just wanted to tell someone that I'm having these thoughts and maybe that will help....

And also - congratulations to me for 6 months!!!! Maybe I should celebrate. Maybe I'm feeling blah and celebration this could really help me find some joy in this whole thing and remember how far I've come and so on. Can anyone think of a way to celebrate? For my milestone, I had dinner and a movie with someone. But I can't ask that person to do that again since we just did not long ago. But still.....WHAT DO....
Thank you!
Old 08-28-2016, 10:06 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congrats on six months! That is really an accomplishment!