Notices

Trying again

Old 08-23-2016, 10:41 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying again

This is my first time on a sobriety blog, but I think it's because I've realized how much I really need to stop. It is hard for me to face reality. I come off as happy, confident and having it all together. I am a closet alcoholic. I'm 35. Happily married with children. I spend a lot of time alone. Alcoholism runs in my family. I am on day 3 of not having a drop and I feel extremely down, ashamed and impatient. On top of sweating, shaking, nausea, stomach pains and headaches. Is this common?
Old 08-23-2016, 10:47 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum Familyfirst!!

Sounds pretty similar to my experience, if like me it took years to get to this point then the body will take time to adjusting away from not having alcohol.

I would though keep in mind seeing a Dr if things get too intense as withdrawals can be more serious for some people compared to others.
Old 08-23-2016, 10:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I will. Thank you
Old 08-23-2016, 11:24 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Do your best

Hi
Old 08-23-2016, 12:05 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi and welcome

Is this your first time attempting to quit? I've tried MANY times and almost always have the sweating, shaking, ect. about 3 days to a week or so.

I am only on Day 2 right now, so I'm with you - on the few times I'm managed a month or so there was always a challenge to resist drinking after the sweats and shaking subside. I always thought "wow, I feel really good today, how about a drink?"

Be strong and maybe write yourself a note describing how you feel - if you are feeling good again in a few days go back to that note to remind yourself that you don't want to do it over again!

Good luck!
Old 08-23-2016, 12:11 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Familyfirst6 View Post