Notices

Treatment is part of the problem and not the solution

Old 08-16-2016, 03:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Treatment is part of the problem and not the solution

I am increasingly thinks that treatment is a problem not a solution. I go to rehab 5 days a week even though I am a fully qualified psychologist and I have never drank more than since I have been in treatment for alcoholism
Old 08-16-2016, 03:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

Maybe try in-patient rehab so you aren't near any alcohol?
Old 08-16-2016, 03:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi James,

I haven't ever been in treatment myself, but whichever way you look at this both the problem and the solution are 100% down to you. Get the right mind frame in place and I m sure you can do it.

P
Old 08-16-2016, 03:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Originally Posted by JamesfrmEngland View Post
even though I am a fully qualified psychologist and I have never drank more than since I have been in treatment for alcoholism
Have you ruled out confirmation bias, James?

D
Old 08-16-2016, 09:48 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
EndGame

I am increasingly thinks that treatment is a problem not a solution. I go to rehab 5 days a week even though I am a fully qualified psychologist and I have never drank more than since I have been in treatment for alcoholism
Huh.

So if you were to stop drinking, then that would make treatment the solution? Or that drinking without treatment would be the solution?

Not feelin' it.
Old 08-17-2016, 05:07 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
NA Member - Atheist

The problem is that you keep getting loaded...

No one is making that choice but you.
Old 08-17-2016, 05:23 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
I could see peace instead of this

That kind of makes sense to me.

My addiction, when threatened, tended to pull out all the stops and go into overdrive. So in that sense, thinking I needed to or was going to stop seemed to make it worse.