Notices

Want to be sober

Old 08-14-2016, 12:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Want to be sober

I've never used a site like this before a bit apprehensive . I've got to a point in my life I don't really know where to turn but I feel that alcohol and cannabis are ruining my life . Sometimes I am in control of my drinking but other times I lose control and before I know it I have no memory of the end of the night or how I get home . It worries me as I know it leaves me vulnerable. Recently split with my partner too who had a problem with drink but he didn't want to change . I feel like I want a different life to this but I just fall back into the same way. Hearing people's posts on hear makes me hopeful I can , it's just so hard when everyone around me drinks .
Old 08-14-2016, 12:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum Lobrien!!
Old 08-14-2016, 12:11 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Lobrien! Congrats on admitting you have a problem and that you want help. Stay close by here and read as much as you can. I'm only 2 weeks in, but I'm sure you will get a lot of great advice from other more experienced people. Good luck!
Old 08-14-2016, 12:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hopeful

Thank you , I am hopeful that things can get better for me , it's good to see so many others trying to change. ive been scared about my problem for such a long time and I loved my ex but he was in denial about the problem and was dragging me under but I thought when we split I would just stop but the depression and loneliness of losing him means I've continued . I feel there has got to be something better than this trap I feel I am in
Old 08-14-2016, 12:57 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome. There really is something better than the trap you feel you're in. Keep coming back, keep posting and reading, get a sense of how real it can be for you.
Good luck
xx
Old 08-14-2016, 01:06 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Do your best

Welcome Lobrien
Old 08-14-2016, 01:46 PM
  # 7 (permalink)