Notices

How long until a sponsor starts talking about the steps?

Old 07-02-2016, 10:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How long until a sponsor starts talking about the steps?

Hi everyone,

I am new to AA. All I ever hear about is how the solution is in the steps. How working the steps is very important and how that is the actual solution. I joined in April and got a sponsor. She approached me and asked if I needed a sponsor . I said yes and we began our sponsor/sponsee relationship in April. I was very desperate for help and willing to do anything. She gave me the assignment to pray every day for God to help me stay sober for 24 hours. Then she told me to read the 24 Hour Hazeldon daily app and text her my thoughts on what it said. Then to journal my thoughts and do a gratitude list. Other than me doing these morning assignments and seeing her at the same meeting we attend twice a week nothing else really happened. We did meet together face to face about 5 times over those 2 months. We would meet at a restaurant and she would have me there for over 3 hours. Almost the entire time she would talk to me about herself. She would talk about her life, her ex husband, her kids and her job. She really hates her job and finds it frustrating so she talks a lot about that. I almost never get to say a word. I am over here dying from alcoholism. Dying from guilt, regret and shame. And I am dying to know how I can tolerate and live my life on a daily basis without drinking but I never hear any solution from her. Finally after 2 hours of listening to her talk endlessly she says to open the BIg Book. She wants us to read the Big Book together word for word and then she tells me what to underline or highlight. I have asked her if we will ever get to the steps. She says it could take a year or longer but we will get there. What she wants us to do is just read alouds. After 2 months we barely made it past the foreword because we don't have a regular time to meet and 75% of the time she is