Notices

PAWS is killing me

Old 07-01-2016, 10:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

PAWS is killing me

I have been sober since June 2015.

Honestly, my drinking was mainly binge drinking every night in college. And when I graduated to start my new job I quit cold turkey.

The first 3 months were hell. I was convinced I was dying.
Then life started again and I had to get my ass up and do things again.

Next nine months consisted of brain fog, forgetfulness, anxiety, etc.

Two days ago I went to the dentist. I also quit smoking when i quit drinking, and that causes the blood vessels in your gums to expand again, making them bleed. Anyways, they had me rinse with the perio guard stuff that has 11% alcohol. Whatever I spit it out like no big deal. However that night i started feeling mild withdrawal symptoms ! From mouthwash , spit out! WTF!!
And realized it probably absorbed into my blood stream because my gums were bleeding. Is it possible that I have just restarted this whole train?! I hadn't even gotten over my PAWS the first time. And let me tell you, one year or feeling like this feels like an enternity.

Does anyone have input on this?

Full disclosure I've been to the doctor , gotten MRI, EKG, EEG, blood work; you name it I got it. I'm otherwise healthy. So it is from the alcohol 100%
Old 07-01-2016, 10:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You're okay.

It took me a year to feel normal-ish.

That tiny amount of alcohol in the perio-rinse did not set you back. You didn't do it to get high, and there wasn't enough in it to cause damage to your recovery in a physical way. It sounds to me like you're just anxious - totally part of that first year. I was easily "set off" too. This will pass.

Continue on your course of not drinking. PAWS is not fatal, honest.

Drinking might be.
Old 07-01-2016, 10:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Almost all your posts are about PAWS. You may be overly fixated on it.
Old 07-01-2016, 11:03 AM
  # 4 (permalink)