Notices

The struggles with being newly sober

Old 06-26-2016, 03:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The struggles with being newly sober

I'm really new to being sober once again, I've been sober for barley two days now. I feel like i'm going crazy especially with all my negative thoughts. I lost my job due to using and I don't have anything going for me right now, I've also damaged my friendships and feel very alone. My thoughts just won't stop, telling me i'm such a loser I have nothing going for me, i'm worthless etc and it's giving me major anxiety because it just won't stop. These thoughts really make me want to use. How do you cope with these negative thoughts? I feel so overwhelmed I don't even know where to start with things. I'm also trying to leave my ex who was quite abusive right now which is really friggen hard and I want to go back so bad....but I know as soon as I go back to him i'm going to start using again; I'm really trying to be strong and stay away. No one really knows what's going on with me right now since I hid so much of what's going on from everyone. I don't really have people to reach out to right now. I'm asking for advice on how I could maybe make this easier on myself and things that worked for you when you were newly sober? I want to be sober so bad; in a matter of a few months of being in a relapse, I've lost my job, friends, money etc... I want to stop the destruction in my life right now. I feel so alone.
Old 06-26-2016, 03:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome, and I'm really sorry that you're feeling so alone and lost right now. We do understand how hard this is. What you're going through with the negative thoughts running through your mind - that is your disease trying to keep you hooked. Don't give in. You are not a bad person and you deserve a good life. Do whatever it takes right now to distract your mind and to stop yourself from drinking/using. It will get better and you are worth the effort.
Old 06-26-2016, 04:08 PM