Notices

Sobriety and Recovery - What's the diff ?

Old 06-15-2016, 07:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sobriety and Recovery - What's the diff ?

Just getting a conversation going here... nothing heavy or anything.

So I am new to Sobriety ... nearly 8 weeks now living without any alcohol. I guess you would call me "Sober".

OK... then we have the word recovery. Or Some say "I'm a recovering alcoholic".

What's the difference or is it the same meaning with different words.

Have a great day !
Old 06-15-2016, 07:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Congratulations on 8 weeks!

I think the difference is huge.

To me sobriety is 'not drinking'.

Recovery is living a happy and peaceful life. In order to recover it takes a lot of working through issues that brought us to addiction and changing our lifestyle to support our recovery.
Old 06-15-2016, 07:46 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Great job on 8 weeks!

It's a very common conversation here: Sobriety vs Absitnence vs Recovery vs..etc.. It's a bit of a semantics argument, but there is also the concept that simple abstinence ( AKA - just "not drinking" and living your live exactly as you did before ) is MUCH different than Sobriety/Recovery - Which suggest living your life in a new way - having a sobriety plan - actively working to better yourself physically/spiritually/mentally.
Old 06-15-2016, 07:46 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Sobriety is the foundation. Recovery is the house you build upon it.
Old 06-15-2016, 07:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Are you working a program, such as AA? That is where many of us learn about recovery and live it.

At 8 weeks of not drinking, your body - depending on the extent and length of your use- is technically sober but still dealing with the effects of alcohol, physically. I had a lot of those and you may be having them too.