Notices

First day, first time

Old 06-06-2016, 06:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Hlk

First day, first time

This is my first attempt to recover from alcohol dependence. I'm trying to do it on my own, but I feel I need support. And people on this site will understand better than my family and friends. I don't really know how ling I've been actually dependent, but I know it's gotten worse, to this point. I function and work and no one in my life knows. But I want very much to free myself of this problem. I'm on day 2, and having some withdrawals. Yesterday was rough. But it got better than in the morning. Are mornings worse? I could use some encouragement from you who've suffered through and understand and won't judge. Please. Thank you. 😊
Old 06-06-2016, 06:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Welcome to SR.

Originally Posted by Hlk View Post
Are mornings worse?
Early sobriety is rough. Period. The physical manifestation of early withdrawal weren't that bad in the morning for me. I think it was the anxiety that plagued me all day that was worse, followed by the obsessive thoughts of drinking at night.

But it gets better, if you stay sober. You have to believe that while you are feeling your worst.
Old 06-06-2016, 06:28 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! One thing that has really helped me (only on Day 10) is drinking TONS of water. I've tried to quit before, but I didn't sufficiently hydrate and I recall it being much harder.
Old 06-06-2016, 06:31 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Good for making the tough decision to get started in recovery!

Everyone's detox/withdrawal/physical process is different. It might help to read up on what goes on - for me it help and still helps bolster my understanding of getting healthy. This is one good article (long and worth reading) - https://digital-dharma.net/post-acut...r-immediately/