Notices

Staying away from Facebook - a pointer

Old 05-15-2016, 04:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Mini Novel Post Writer

Staying away from Facebook - a pointer

I am a newbie again but this is not my first rodeo either. The last time I was here I managed 17 months of sobriety. A little pointer for those who are here for the first time or brand new again.

A large part of my life was sitting and scrolling through Facebook in the evenings. Seeing what everyone else was up to. Many of those posts contained pictures of people sitting around with drinks in hand. A picture of the drink itself on the bar or on the beach, wherever, it doesn't matter. They know how to drink and not overdo it, they don't have a problem, or maybe they do, no concern of mine.

However, if you're trying to get away from alcohol seeing any of that is no good for you or for your psyche. It serves no purpose other than to start a resentment that they get to have fun and you don't. It will produce the lies in your head. In fact, I believe that a large contributing factor to my return to use was because I had full access to knowledge of friends whereabouts and if they were currently drinking. Unnecessary presentation of an opportunity that I had no business knowing about.

Do yourself a huge favor and shy away from Facebook. In fact, I now recognize and accept that I am probably going to lose many of the friends that I had on my friend's list because I'm not drinking. Case and point, the person I was drinking with last Sunday, who I thought was a really good friend, has not reached out to me since Monday where I haven't posted nor commented on any of her posts. Even though that would be totally out of the norm.

Those drinking buddies you have? You'll be surprised (or maybe not) at how very little they care about you. What it comes down to is the relationship is sometimes only based on your common use of alcohol.