Notices

New to alcoholism

Old 05-06-2016, 11:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to alcoholism

Hi everyone,
I am a college student and just found out that my mother "fell off the waggon" and lost her job. I have never seen my mother drink and she had been 20 years sober. She stopped drinking so she could have me and I think I helped her stay sober. My mother is a teacher and I can't even imagine her drinking. I know this is a serious situation but how can I help when I can't imagine her as a drunk? Apparently she is a "stress" drinker who drinks alone. How do I help? How can I see my perfect mother as an alcoholic?
Old 05-06-2016, 11:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober Alcoholic

First of all accept her imperfection.

Then ask how you might help.
Old 05-06-2016, 11:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome catlover

I'm sure it will take you a while to get your head around it. try to remember this doesn't make your mother weak or morally deficient or any others of the usual stereotypes - it just means she's a good person with a bad problem.

Happily there are lots of places she can get help. Accessing that help is her job.

I think your job is to love and support your mom, same as it's ever been

D
Old 05-07-2016, 12:38 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am also a teacher. In AA I know surgeons, nurses, social workers, solicitors, self-made millionaires, scaffolders, mothers, grandmothers, father's, grandfather's, plumbers...the list can go on. Alcoholism is well ahead of the game in being without discrimination (unfortunately ).

Is your mother still drinking since her relapse, or is she back sober? Is she getting some support? If not, maybe you could encourage her to seek some out. There is lots available.

I would imagjne that she told you about this in order to be honest with you, rather than because you are expected to do something for her, but acceptance and love how a long way.