Notices

Who waits for disaster?

Old 04-22-2016, 10:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Brother of the Wolf

Who waits for disaster?

So here's the deal: Sunday will be two months of complete abstinence from alcohol this time. I have fully committed to my Big Plan of never drinking, under any circumstance. But the problem is, I feel like I should be struggling more. Don't get me wrong, I spend large chunks of my day being hyper-vigilant for any sign that my AV is getting ready to try to tell me some more lies. But, I don't have the cravings or indecision that I did for the few months leading up to my past relapse.

A little background--I spent my childhood and much of my young adult life being conditioned by my family that I'm not good at anything and I will inevitably screw up whatever I'm doing. So as much as I am aware of this and am actively working on it in therapy, it still creeps in to my head. Multiple times a day, I find myself thinking that obviously at some point I am going to blow it and take a drink. It's just a matter of time before I create some sort of horrible catastrophe by going on a bender and wrecking my health and all of my relationships.

I have no logical basis to think this. I know that I am good at most of what I do. I know that people care about me. I know that I am strong and committed to my sobriety. But between my family conditioning, and the self esteem shattering effects of years of drunken failure, I sometimes can't shake the fear.

Anyone else get this? Any strategies to push these stories out of your mind?
Old 04-22-2016, 10:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You should accept that fear will come into your mind - can't change that. But it's how you deal with it that matters. One day at a time!
Old 04-22-2016, 10:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think as long as you have a good plan, and you keep working that plan, you'll stay sober SH.