Notices

Can I help my friend?

Old 04-19-2016, 07:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can I help my friend?

I am new to recovery, past 90 days now. I have quit drinking many times in the past, but always relapsed. But I am working on myself and making progress. This might not be the right forum, but here goes : Years ago a friend of mine died from drug use. I wonder to this day if I could have stopped him somehow. I can still see his face in my mind, and hear his voice. He died in 1988. Today another friend of mine is in trouble. He is still drinking even though he has been fired from jobs for being drunk and has been to rehab after a family intervention. Not long after rehab, he was back to drinking. He has had tragedy in his life, and his sister now has cancer. He is obviously hurting. The last time I saw him, he was drinking beer and whiskey. I drank water. I have tried to get him to go to the doctor in the hope the doctor would scare him into change. He has not gone. I feel like I can't preach to him, only tell him I stopped drinking which I have. How can I tell him anything when I was right by his side for years at endless parties and late nights? I am guilty as he for using alcohol as a coping mechanism. I am worried about him and I don't know how or if I can help him. Other friends have given up. It hurts me to see my old friend this way. Is there some way to steer him away from alcohol? Do I have any credibility after my own troubles? Any thoughts?
Old 04-19-2016, 07:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

If anything, you have more credibility having been where he is and pulling yourself out.

I have come to believe that the most effective way to reach others is by being an example of what a sober life looks like. All you can do is tell him you're ready to help when he's ready to quit...he has to get to that place on his own.
Old 04-19-2016, 07:57 AM
  # 3 (permalink)