Notices

Lori T and I am an addict and alcoholic

Old 04-15-2016, 09:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Lori T and I am an addict and alcoholic

Hi name is Lori and I'm from Maine. I just wanted to introduce myself I'm new to this app. I want to thank you all for being here and if there's any suggestions I'd greatly appreciate it. Also if there's any women that are willing to be temporary online sponsors that would be great thanks
Old 04-15-2016, 09:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Formerly ScrewdUpInDe

Welcome Lori.
Old 04-15-2016, 09:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to SR Lori - I know you'll find a lot of support here.

I'm not in AA and I'm a guy, but others will be able to help, for sure

D
Old 04-15-2016, 09:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR!! :-)
Old 04-15-2016, 11:05 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi Lori. Welcome to the forum.

I'm presuming that you mean a sponsor as in the AA 12-step kind of way. When you're looking for a sponsor, the face to face things is hard, but I know that I couldn't have got to know someone online like I did my sponsor over tea and chats. It was important for her to share her experience strength and hope with me. There was so much of it, doing it online would have been like writing a novel. As much as I value online support, I don't think anything beats having a sponsor that can see my eyes when I'm listening and talking, so she can tell if I'm getting it, or if I'm spinning a line, or if I'm "I'm fine"ing her when actually I need some help with something. Alcoholics are pretty adept at putting a gloss on the truth (or telling out and out lies). Half the time I didn't know I was doing it. The other time I didn't think it was proper fibbing, just a way to keep people happy and not let them down. I would never sponsor someone on line. It's not a personal thing. It's just hard enough face to face. It would be so much harder online.