Notices

Should I choose AA or Al-anon?

Old 03-13-2016, 05:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Should I choose AA or Al-anon?

I've never been to either and continue to be confused. I've heard people say "al-anon" is for friends/family/children of alcoholics or codependents and AA is for alcoholics.

To be honest, I am both. Codependent (from childhood, not in a codependent relationship right now) and alcoholic.

I believe my codependency led to alcoholism. I still am dealing with both but have been sober for months.

Which do you recommend I attend? Advice is much appreciated because I'm very new to anything AA related.
Old 03-13-2016, 05:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Why can't you go to both? I'm sure you'd be welcomed at both places.
Old 03-13-2016, 05:39 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Recommend AA....then later on maybe venture into Al-Anon? My advice is to fix your alcoholism first....then look at your relationship with other alcoholics.
Old 03-13-2016, 05:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

why not try both and then either continue both or pick the one you feel is more helpful for you?

D
Old 03-13-2016, 07:05 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Bunny211 View Post
Recommend AA....then later on maybe venture into Al-Anon? My advice is to fix your alcoholism first....then look at your relationship with other alcoholics.
This would also be my suggestion. Al-anon helps friends and family deal with the alcoholic in their midst whereas AA is for the alcoholic. I do know people who eventually attended both. This is a situation where taking care of yourself should come first.
Old 03-13-2016, 07:24 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Thank you for all the advice!
Old 03-13-2016, 07:34 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Agree with those who suggested AA to start. I have the same issues and AA has been very helpful, especially the step work.
Old 03-14-2016, 06:19 AM
  # 8 (permalink)  
Do your best

I'd try both
Old 03-14-2016, 11:52 AM
  # 9 (permalink)