Notices

Cant stop drinking

Old 03-09-2016, 02:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cant stop drinking

Hey everyone, this is my first time on a forum like this and I really need some help. I'm 22 years old and for the past 3 years I have been drinking heavily everyday. I haven't had 1 day off the booze since I was 19 when i went through a bad break up. Everyday after work I will drink 6 - 10 full strength beers and then after dinner I will drink at least half of a 4 litre wine cask. I really want to quit drinking because I know I am doing serious damage to my body. I've tried to go cold turkey once before and started having really bad withdrawals. I just don't know where to start, any advice you guys can give me?
Old 03-09-2016, 02:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

No advice really as I have continued to fail at quitting. Actually that is not true, the one piece of advice I have is to NEVER GIVE UP fighting. I have had a series of major meltdowns recently and have finally accepted to go to rehab. If I could say one thing to my old self, when I first signed up here and started to get really serious about quitting I'd say "Don't wait years to get the help you need"
So, I'll say the same to you, if you cannot do it on your own, reach out for whatever help you can right now. Go to rehab, go to AA, go to a doctor, get any kind of help. You don't want any more of this misery do you?
Lastly, maybe go to your doctor or the hospital even, if you suffer serious withdrawals it is the safest way for you to quit. They can also help you put into place other support.
Best of luck to you!
Old 03-09-2016, 03:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

The best advice I have is to get through the withdrawal however you need to and seek out some support. It does get better, but yes the withdrawal is brutal!

Welcome to SR
Old 03-09-2016, 03:15 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by michaeljay View Post