Notices

Going into detox tomorrow. Excited and nervous

Old 03-02-2016, 10:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Going into detox tomorrow. Excited and nervous

So.. I'm going into detox tomorrow in the Northern Virginia area tomorrow, I am a bit nervous, but I am very excited as well. It is voluntary. I know I can rock out the detox. But does anyone, especially those in the DC metro area, have any advice on what to do next? I am hoping to get a lot of information while in detox.

And... Hi to the community
Old 03-02-2016, 10:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Does anyone have any advice? I have found it VERY difficult to find knowledge. I have been drinking 16 beers a night for 3 years. And I want to kind of nip this bud. I am not sure what to do after detox. I would appreciate any information on what helped any of you. Right now, I am really just looking for information. 16 beers a night may seem low to some serious drinkers, but it is serious to me as it has just started to impact my work and family life since our recent big snowstorm here in the DC area. Please, I could use any advice.

I wanted to edit my post, but am too new.
Old 03-02-2016, 10:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

In a large metropolitan area, you will have a choice of AA or other recovery meetings to support your sobriety after detox. Ninety meetings in your first ninety days is recommended.

SoberRecovery is a fantastic source of information and inspiration. Read around and post often--it works if you work it!
Old 03-02-2016, 10:31 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Behold the power of NO

Welcome to SR
My suggestions to you would be that you look for face 2 face support in your area. Look up to see if there are AA meetings or SMART etc... nearby.
When you leave detox, hit a meeting before you even go home.
Tell people at the meeting that you just left detox and could use some support. Some people will give you their numbers and give you some hints.