Notices

The slow downward sprial

Old 01-30-2016, 05:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The slow downward sprial

Hi all,

I am new here but have been lurking for a few months and am really happy to have found this website, it has helped a lot.

My back story: From the time my father poured a small amount of beer into a cup for me at age 10, I have loved the taste of beer. That first sip was supposed to be disgusting, but for me it wasn't, and became a bonding moment with my father, who I now realize is also an alcoholic. Actually, looking back, my entire family on my father's side either died from drinking, are in recovery, or are still drinking. Those few times I had a small sip planted the seed for later I guess. As a kid, up until I graduated high school, sports kept me busy and I never had any desire to drink, even though I had plenty of opportunities being on three varsity sports teams (lots of parties). It just never appealed to me. I would say "why do people drink, that's so dumb!" Fast forward to the summer after I graduated high school, in a small town, bored, no idea what I was doing in life, and experiencing a nasty breakup with my high school girlfriend of 3 years. That's when I started experimenting with alcohol, at the ripe age of 19. I had never been drunk before and never even desired to drink it after those few sips from my father.