Notices

DAY 23 - Is it really? !!

Old 01-25-2016, 09:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

DAY 23 - Is it really? !!

As I write this, I am sitting here at 23 days since I took my last drink.

This past weekend was a milestone too. Double whammy of weekend of snowstorms and NFL football on Sunday.

I mean, who wouldn't want to have a brandy while watching the snow fall, all cozy in my home? Who wouldn't want to crack a bottle of Merlot and sit by the fireplace? Who wouldn't want to drink a beer or 2 while eating junk food and watch the football games?

This guy! That's who wouldn't!

On an honest note. This place has been a safe haven for me and without it.. I do not think I could make it. So thanks to those who contribute.

I'm a musician (guitar player and singer) and being sober is making me a better man and player. I lost out on the past few years. My drinking cost me opportunities and to play in a band which I loved. I tried to keep it together, but I was sneaking booze during practice sessions and gigs. I was the one that had a bottle of "water" sitting on my amp (but it wasn't water). It got to the point where I couldn't remember simple song lyrics and played like sh**.

So now I am feeling better. Been practicing every chance I get. I am going to get back out there and play again. I believe that I hit bottom (or as close as I wanted to get to it). So now I can continue on my journey and have one less obstacle in my way.
Old 01-26-2016, 07:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Day 23 is fantastic Martin!! Keep it going!!
Old 01-26-2016, 08:38 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Do your best

Congratulations
Old 01-26-2016, 08:43 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Congratulations! I love reading posts like these.
Old 01-26-2016, 10:49 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Congratulations on three+ weeks. That's huge. I know that all those things you listed used to run through my own head. The nice glass of wine. Beer for the game. But it was never a few. A nice romantic vision served with shame and regret. No thanks!