Notices

Rough Landing, But Day 11

Old 01-25-2016, 06:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Rough Landing, But Day 11

I've been posting on here for a few months but have recently not managed to get more than 3-4 days of sobriety under my belt. My alcoholism finally managed me- went on a two-day bender; when I didn't show up for work my co-worker (also a volunteer EMT) broke into my house and found me passed out. I had taken a tumble down the stairs and bashed my head and legs pretty badly. A night in the ER and some IVs had me up again. Next day I started in again; this time after a few hours a higher power must have spoken to me as I called the local detox center on myself and got into detox. Turns out this was the place they dump people they pick up on the street to sober up. I was there for 10 hours, felt like crap, then I was assaulted by another guy in the place, punched my head, face, sides, knocked me out of bed...needless to say I felt pummeled physically and emotionally. The following day (a Friday) was awful, I can't remember feeling so bad, ever.

Thankfully I have a loving family. By the grace of god I managed to get myself on a plane that night and fly across the country to be with family. The cuts and bruises are healing, and I am now on Day 11 of sobriety. What a feeling.

In the meantime, I've lost my job over this (was a second strike), but to have my sobriety today is the gift that feels like it really counts. I'm afraid of what the future holds, I have lived alone for some time and know loneliness is my biggest trigger. I am an introvert too by nature but I need to reach out and help others to help myself. But if I can stay sober I also know anything is possible.

Sorry for rambling, hopefully this sharing will help others on this board who are suffering.
Old 01-25-2016, 06:54 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb