Notices

Making a change

Old 01-03-2016, 08:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Making a change

Ok, I've been drinking 10-18 beers a night for the last 7 years. I tried quitting before but did it cold turkey and struggled with servers anxiety and withdraws. It scared me back to drinking, at least that's the best way I can put it. Last night I wasn't feeling well and only drank two beers. I felt great when I woke up, like a new person. Led me to try this again. I stayed up last night thinking how I'm not afraid to die, not at all... But I'm scared to leave my wife and kids behind especially as a result of my lifestyle. So tonight, I drank 6 beers as my true journey of weening myself off of alcohol begins. But I'm also curious if cutting my intake in half is safe. I won't go cold turkey again because of the serious effects it had on my life. So going from at least 12 to 6 overnight, is that safe? Thanks in advance.
Old 01-03-2016, 08:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Mate, if you're having withdraw symptoms the safest thing for you to do is see a GP to help you do it safely
Welcome to SR
Old 01-03-2016, 09:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Not having withdraw symptoms now. Last time I struggled with high blood pressure day two and three. After that it was anxiety. I went to the doctor and he prescribed me Prozac. That made it worse. Turned out to be my caffeine intake. I guess over the years the alcohol balanced the two out. Last night I had no withdraws but the last time I quit it wasn't until day two when they started for me. So this time I want to do it safely.
Old 01-03-2016, 09:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Brother of the Wolf