SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Newbie Here *waves* (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/381291-newbie-here-waves.html)

Whiimsy 12-19-2015 10:38 PM

Newbie Here *waves*

Hi, I'm completely brand new here but am eager to get myself involved. Any random advice you might have to impart on a newcomer seeking to get better connected here, feel free. c:

My drinking has always been borderline problematic and I have been using & abusing alcohol on/off since I was 16 (so about seven years at this point). I think I was aware that a lot of the problems I have had to face were usually a result of my drinking (relationship issues, infidelity, health problems, etc.). However, the blackouts are the most frightening problem, the thing which made me realize that I need to actually take action here.

My blackouts started only a year ago and have since evolved from a random occurrence to basically a biweekly thing. For whatever reason, I can't stop once I've started and I almost always drink myself to a blackout once I get started. My life now feels totally out of control and I don't know how to regain that control anymore. I look in the mirror and it seems that I don't know the person looking back at me.

I made three very deliberate attempts to quit drinking over the past couple months. My most recent quit lasted a week but I caved into temptation & went on a two day binge. Woke up this morning to the realization that I need to take a more aggressive approach, try to get connected somehow. So I went to an AA meeting earlier tonight. But, after getting all the way there, I chickened out. I have been to AA once before but I never really got connected and haven't been sure a 12 step program with such a religious slant would be right for me.