Notices

Forever an alcoholic?

Old 11-18-2015, 11:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Forever an alcoholic?

Hi all,
I started drinking when I was 14 and really haven't stopped since. Bouts of sobriety have hit my life but so have the bouts of extreme depression and attempts at suicide.

I have recently started to see someone who I thought would help me but when it comes to the crunch and the hard times she ran a mile, making it out as if I was the one creating issues. I am an alcoholic, meaning I am manipulative, a liar, a thief, and extremely clever when it comes to wanting a drink - I get what I want in the end.

The truth is this is not what I want but it is what I have been doing for the last 32 years...and I am good at it! I am not proud of it, it has just developed as my way of life.

It looks as if no one can help me, I have tried every avenue...re-hab, lock-down, all keys/money taken away from me..., somehow i still get the stuff when I think I need it. It is such a powerful mind and one that i cannot take over on my own, however, everytime I see someone they underestimate my "alcoholic" will and end up leaving my care.

I hope someone here can understand my dilemma and give me some tips on how to live a life without the "alcoholic" mind.

Thanks!

K
Old 11-18-2015, 11:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Sirogk and welcome

I accept I'm always going to be an alcoholic - meaning that alcohol will always have the same negative effect on me if I drink again.

But - I don't have to drink again - and I don't have to settle for being anything less that the person I want to be.

I worked hard to stop drinking and stay stopped - I also worked hard to become the kind of man I wanted to be - it took time and patience and a little faith that it would be ok...but this place really helped.

I drank/drugged for 30 years or so. Change is always possible