Notices

I need to stop before I get sick.

Old 11-12-2015, 02:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need to stop before I get sick.

I have been drinking daily for about 15 years. The longest I've gone without drinking in the last decade is 3 days. It was during a short lived attempt last winter. I went to a stress care therapist but I didn't quit. I am not going to drink today and instead will go out to dinner with my family to get out of the routine of drinking at home. I am scared to go to the doctor to find out what kind of damage I've done to my body. At this point my main motivation for drinking has been to numb my physical pain but the pain is getting worse and turning into depression. I hope to feel better tomorrow and then keep it rolling with avoiding alcohol. I don't have any in the house so I'll make it through today. Coming here and posting is a big step for me since I am ashamed to be here.
Old 11-12-2015, 02:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
JD
You're not shackled to not drinking, you're free from drinking

Welcome and don't be ashamed. We've all been on your shoes.
Old 11-12-2015, 02:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Please don't be ashamed, nightswimming; coming here, registering, and posting were very courageous steps. You are venturing into a better way to live; be proud of yourself.

Welcome to SR; glad you found us.
Old 11-12-2015, 02:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome, Nightswimming. It's wonderful to have you join us. You're in good company.

I drank almost 30 years, so you're doing far better than me by admitting you need to stop. I made excuses and justified it until it almost took my life. This won't be you. Good to meet you.
Old 11-12-2015, 03:05 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome. You can do this. Do you have a recovery plan?
Old 11-12-2015, 03:08 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome nightswimming

You'll find a lot of care and support here - you're not alone

D
Old 11-12-2015, 03:08 PM
  # 7 (permalink)