Notices

Naltrexone side effects

Old 11-12-2015, 03:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Naltrexone side effects

Pretty much all of the stated side effects the accompanying literature stated on first dose of 50mg. Like an opiate "high" without the pleasure (nausea, dizziness, fatigue etc). Anyone else experience this and did it wane with time/ more use? Heck, driving etc could be problematic with this stuff!
Old 11-12-2015, 03:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

i used a pack of naltrexone and i give alcohol up. then my doctod prescribed 4 packs more but it was enough for me to use a pack.

side effects last only a week.
Old 11-12-2015, 04:16 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Do your best

Hi Zom I have no direct experience with this I've spoken on local radio about it when it first started coming around although it was a diffrent name il try & find the link ...

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...dio-today.html

My view on it in the beginning was if it can help to achieve sobriety then surely it's a good thing

But my thought about view on it is that there are no guarantees with it its meant to used in conjunction with therapy so my honest answer is I don't think a pill will ever cure alcoholism however if it helps ppl to go therapy & tackle thier alcoholism then I'm for that

I think I'm 50/50 on this lol
Old 11-12-2015, 05:53 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I used naltrexone in a limited way. The first few days I had insomnia and felt spaced out. That got better. I started taking it when I had a slip at about 7 months sober related to a recurrence of PTSD symptoms. After the first week, I took it in a different way that has apparently made a difference in my cravings (whether psychological or physical I don't know). I personally am grateful that I was already well on my way when I started using this as a way to reduce my stress about relapsing. I doubt that naltrexone would have been enough by itself. I've only used 12 tablets and haven't needed any for the past month.
Old 11-12-2015, 02:02 PM