Notices

question

Old 10-28-2015, 06:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

question

Im new to sobriety. .. tomorrow is day 6 and im very proud of being able to count days... does this mean special occasions christmas ect we cant drink at all? Does sobriety mean never again? Just want some opinion s
Old 10-28-2015, 06:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, Hopefull24!

Many times, people who are new to sobriety have such questions. A commitment to sobriety means forever. The reason for that is that if we have drinking problems, we cannot recalibrate temporarily. We don't do well with occasional drinking, whether the occasions are special or not.

Hope that helps. It's all a process and it gets easier.
Old 10-28-2015, 06:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

For me (and for the vast majority of alcoholics), yes. Moderation is rarely possible for us.

I tried moderation more times than I care to remember; I was never successful.

I will never risk another drink. Sobriety means too much to me.

Congratulations on Day 6; the best is yet to come.
Old 10-28-2015, 06:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by hopefull24 View Post
Im new to sobriety. .. tomorrow is day 6 and im very proud of being able to count days... does this mean special occasions christmas ect we cant drink at all? Does sobriety mean never again? Just want some opinion s
Sobreity is life without alcohol. No alcohol at all... ever!
Old 10-28-2015, 06:53 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

It depends on your definition of sobriety. On this site and in most recovery groups, methods and modalities, any use of alcohol or drug means sobriety has been broken. So as you said above: sobriety means "never again".

However, for most of the population, sober means not being intoxicated and impaired.. So those folks would consider themselves sober if they only had one or two beers, glasses of wine or sprites.