Notices

Parents think I relapsed. It's discouraging.

Old 10-25-2015, 11:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Exclamation Parents think I relapsed. It's discouraging.

Hi. I'm new here. This is my first time posting. I have been sober for 31 days. During the first few weeks of sobriety, I didn't know what to do with myself. Didn't have much going on. So I just kind of hung out. Didn't have much to talk about since I wasn't working or going out. The past few days though, I have started to feel pretty good. My energy level is up and I just got a job i really wanted to get. I feel more upbeat and like I said I have more energy than I have had in a while. My mood has improved somewhat, but I wouldn't say drastically. So I was shocked today to find out that my mother and father both think I've relapsed when I have not. They have every right to feel skeptical at times and to have trouble trusting me as I have lied in the past. I told them both I did not relapse but I understood there were times they were going to be suspicious and I apologized for having put them in a position where they even have to worry about it. The thing is, I asked my mom if there was something I'd done or if she had a reason to think I relapsed and all she could say was she just had a gut feeling. I'm having a little trouble dealing with the fact that she accused me of relapsing based on a feeling. I have no idea how or why she got that gut feeling and no idea when she might get one again. Has anyone dealt with anything similar to this. Any advice would be helpful.
Old 10-25-2015, 11:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, Christylc83! I'm glad you joined us. Someone here pointed out that our friends and family will learn to trust us again on their schedule, not necessarily ours. As you said, they've probably become leery over the years. All you can do it not let it get you down! Stay firm in your sobriety and eventually they'll come around.
Old 10-26-2015, 12:03 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Do your best