SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Nervous New Guy (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/377765-nervous-new-guy.html)

Rookie42 10-20-2015 02:11 PM

Nervous New Guy

Hey there...It's my first time posting. I became sober 7 days ago...and it's been incredibly difficult. Lots of different kinds of struggles. I'm not exactly sure what others say on their first posts, so I'll keep this one rather simple. Feeling alone right now, because I don't think my inner circle fully understands what this challenge is like. Any guidance/support would be appreciated. Thank you.

Rookie42

biminiblue 10-20-2015 02:15 PM

We understand. This first couple weeks is very difficult. And no, friends and family who don't have a problem with drinking will not understand.

You can join in the Class of October thread here on the Newcomers forum. Here's the link :

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-part-2-a.html

Welcome, spend some time here - it's a good, safe place with a lot of support. :)

joeconrad 10-20-2015 02:21 PM

Hey Rookie42,

Welcome to these forums where you're among friends. Wish I could say I'm a rookie at trying to quit, but sadly I'm a seasoned veteran at trying to stay sober and then striking out. Still, I'm in the game for real this time, and with 7 days under your belt clearly you are too. Check in here when you need to.

JD 10-20-2015 02:24 PM

Hello rookie, glad you joined. You'll find lots of good information and advice here. And yes, the first week can be rough. It does get better. I'm relatively new too, I'm 37 days in. You can do this and everyone here certainly understand what you are going through and can help.

ccam1973 10-20-2015 02:31 PM