Notices

What have I done? How do I forgive myself?

Old 10-15-2015, 11:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What have I done? How do I forgive myself?

Oh god...

I was doing well. 3 weeks sober, 3 weeks without alcohol and without using any drugs at all (like xanax)

Then all hell broke lose. I found a packet of pills from 2013 and took the whole bottle - then I went out and bought a bottle of JD.

It's too painful to discuss what happened afterwards but I caused a lot of emotional pain to my father and girlfriend with my despicable behavior.

I ended up in ER and could have died from an overdose ( I took a lot of drugs, different types too).

How on earth do you live with yourself for hurting those you love and those who love you?

Even they've said they forgive me and understand I wasn't myself at the time - I can't forgive myself.... How can I?
Old 10-15-2015, 11:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 1st January 2016

I'm new to all of this support malarkey mate but it seems to me that if you can do three weeks you can do three decades. The blip you described you will look back upon soon helpfully with compassion - because that wasn't you doing it.

Pick yourself up, clean the house from top to bottom to get rid of all the shite, then get back on the wagon.

Hope you sort things with your family, hopefully it's not as bad as you think buddy x
Old 10-16-2015, 12:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm sorry Nick - when addiction bites back, it bites back hard.

There's not a lot you can do about whatever happened. It happened.

You could beat yourself over the head about this and maybe drink again because you feel so low - or you can take the lessons offered by this and look again at your recovery plan..beef it up where it needs to be beefed up - more support? utilising that support? more changed required?